Google recruitment spam
2007/03/20 filed under /personalLast night, I received a mail from Stanley Go, a technical recruiter for Google. They were checking to see whether I was interested in a job with Google or not.
"Finally!", I thought. After all, BOK was contacted by the evil empire over a year ago!
It was just funny though. I'm not listed anywhere as looking for a job, as far as I remember, and the email looked extremely canned. Let's have a look at (parts) of it:
I found your information online on your homepage and see that you are an experienced Perl software developer with many distributions from Acme::Terror::NL to Webservice::LastFM::SimilarArtists. Your experience with coding and software development might be a good fit the Google.com engineering team.
Now, the email was sent to my CPAN account, which looked odd to me to begin with. I only get my Perl modules's bugs and patches on that account (and spam, occasionally).
Let's continue:
With your background and knowledge in software development, I feel that your skill set would be a good match with the Google.com team.
Based on a few modules he can judge my background and knowledge? C'mon! Especially after last week's Dutch Perl Workshop I do not consider my Perl knowledge that good.
This must be a joke, I figured and started looking at the links in the mail. They all linked to the real google.com site. Mmmm, headers? Sure enough it looks like it's coming from Google. It hits a few google corp relays.
Unlike Lee, who wrote about a similar mail, I think this is the lowest kind of recruitment, for it's simply canned spam. Maybe my first assignment at Google would be to write a script to send out even more emails to Python, Ruby and other programmers? ;-)
If they did take time to learn about the people they contact, as Lee claims, they would have found my posts on google eq evil
Shame on you spammers! Shame on you google!



Comments
BOK wrote at 2007-03-20 11:00:
B10m wrote at 2007-03-20 11:16:
BOK wrote at 2007-03-24 10:13: